Press Releases

NTSC Supports Bipartisan Legislation to Establish the Cybersecurity Advisory Committee

Thursday, March 28, 2019

ATLANTA, GA (March 28, 2019) - The National Technology Security Coalition (NTSC) supports bipartisan legislation introduced by Representatives John Katko (R-NY), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) to establish the Cybersecurity Advisory Committee (CSAC).

The Cybersecurity Advisory Committee Authorization Act of 2019 will establish an advisory committee of 35 cybersecurity professionals from across industries to provide the Director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) and the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) guidance on cybersecurity policy and rulemaking.

"As the only association solely representing the Chief Information Security Officer, we applaud Representatives Katko, Lipinski, Newhouse, and Fitzpatrick for their leadership to establish CSAC as the premier forum to advise CISA and DHS on cybersecurity threats," said NTSC Executive Director Patrick Gaul. "The Cybersecurity Advisory Committee will provide the Director of CISA and the Secretary of DHS access to cybersecurity professionals who are at the frontline of protecting billion-dollar enterprises from state and non-state actors around the globe. Our CISO community is precisely the organization to draw upon when DHS is looking for members. If asked, our members are prepared to serve on CSAC to help better protect the U.S. from cyberattacks. Congressman Katko continues to be a leader in bridging the cybersecurity gap between the public and private sectors. His work of protecting the U.S. from cyberattacks is critical to our national security.”

The National Technology Security Coalition is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that serves as the preeminent advocacy voice for the Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) across the nation. Through dialogue, education, and government relations, we unite both public and private sector stakeholders around policies that improve national cybersecurity standards and awareness.

National Technology Security Coalition
Patrick Gaul, Executive Director
(404) 457-4329